Drip, drip, drip….

Melted Snowpeople

Melted Snowpeople

Emergency dental surgery on Monday left me with more time on my hands than usual this week.
So, while I’ve been working on the summer setting for our skybox, I’ve used my leisure time to play out melting down the winter scene.

In RL, I love early spring when the snow turns slushy and grey and slowly pulls back to reveal muddy ground from which the earliest spring flowers are already pushing their way through.

Spring flowers through the snow

Spring flowers through the snow

In Second Life, I created window screens with dripping textures and the sound of dripping water from eaves. Twice a day, I lowered the sculpty snow fields by 0.02m pulling back to show the Library snow& grass texture on the lawn.

Snowdrops and early purple crocuses are up and blooming in the sunny spots between the trees.

Barky's descent into slush

Barky's descent into slush

On the rink, I’ve used the scultpy snow fields here and there to create a slushy feel to the ice. I used a rotted ice texture on the base ice and the snow fields and the sculpted slush is raised by 0.02m everyday.
Objects on the ice, like the barrel bench and “Barky” (made by Arrow Inglewood) have been sinking into the slush.

I think I’ll have to rescue Barky today and pull him to the deck to dry out before getting stored away for the summer. 😉

Spring arrives on Saturday. I’ve put in a pool and a stable this year. It should be fun.

Leave a Reply

